Premier League Table: 2017 Standings, Week 33 Fixtures After Week 32 Results

Arsenal’s Arsene Wenger were beating 3-0 by Crystal Palace on Monday to see their chances of nailing top-four finish in this season’s Premier League suffer another major blow.

Andros Townsend scored the opening goal at Selhurst Park yesterday before Palace second-half strikes from Yohan Cabaye and Luka Milivojevic sealed the Eagles massive victory for Palace, leaving Arsene Wenger’s side in the sixth position.

Manchester United and the EPL league leaders Chelsea headline Week 33 with what promised to be an interesting head-to-head match at Old Trafford on Sunday as United manager Jose Mourinho’s former club make the trip north.

Meanwhile, Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City are clear to see their title hopes tested when they take on Southampton on Saturday, and the Gunners will once again be in action on Monday night against Middlesbrough at the Emirates Stadium.

Read on for a breakdown of the Premier League’s Week 33 schedule in full that comes with a complete previews of the most intriguing matchups on the fixture slate:

2016-17 Premier League Standings

Position Team P W D L GF GA GD Pts
1 Chelsea 31 24 3 4 65 25 +40 75
2 Tottenham 31 20 8 3 64 22 +42 68
3 Liverpool 32 18 9 5 68 40 +28 63
4 Manchester City 31 18 7 6 60 35 +25 61
5 Manchester United 30 15 12 3 46 24 +22 57
6 Arsenal 30 16 6 8 61 39 +22 54
7 Everton 32 15 9 8 57 36 +21 54
8 West Bromwich Albion 32 12 8 12 39 41 -2 44
9 Southampton 30 11 7 12 37 37 0 40
10 Watford 31 10 7 14 36 52 -16 37
11 Leicester 31 10 6 15 39 51 -12 36
12 Burnley 32 10 6 16 32 44 -12 36
13 Stoke 32 9 9 14 34 47 -13 36
14 West Ham 32 10 6 16 42 57 -15 36
15 Bournemouth 32 9 8 15 45 59 -14 35
16 Crystal Palace 31 10 4 17 42 50 -8 34
17 Hull 32 8 6 18 33 64 -31 30
18 Swansea 32 8 4 20 37 67 -30 28
19 Middlesbrough 31 4 12 15 22 37 -15 24
20 Sunderland 31 5 5 21 24 56 -32 20

 

2016-17 Premier League: Week 33 Fixtures

Date Time Fixture
Saturday, April 15 12:30 p.m. BST/7:30 a.m. ET Tottenham Hotspur vs. Bournemouth
Saturday, April 15 3 p.m. BST/10 a.m. ET Watford vs. Swansea City
Saturday, April 15 3 p.m. BST/10 a.m. ET Stoke City vs. Hull City
Saturday, April 15 3 p.m. BST/10 a.m. ET Sunderland vs. West Ham United
Saturday, April 15 3 p.m. BST/10 a.m. ET Crystal Palace vs. Leicester City
Saturday, April 15 3 p.m. BST/10 a.m. ET Everton vs. Burnley
Saturday, April 15 5:30 p.m. BST/12:30 p.m. ET Southampton vs. Manchester City
Sunday, April 16 1:30 p.m. BST/8:30 a.m. ET West Bromwich Albion vs. Liverpool
Sunday, April 16 4 p.m. BST/11 a.m. ET Manchester United vs. Chelsea
Monday, April 17 8 p.m. BST/3 p.m. ET Middlesbrough vs. Arsenal

Manchester United vs. Chelsea

Chelsea has performed brilliantly since suffering their first loss since January in a recent 2-1 defeat to Crystal Palace, thrashing Manchester City and Bournemouth in quick succession and with Manchester United being their next test.

A lot of chances have been experienced both in the Blues and United squad in bid for title prospects in the years since Sir Alex Ferguson left Old Trafford in 2013, with the Blues edging Sunday’s opponents in form over the past two terms:

One that got my attention in the recent news to their Week 33 encounter was in the form of United’s team news as per BBC Radio provides quotes from the United boss Jose Mourinho, who hint on goalkeeper David De Gea could return to the team to face Chelsea:

The Spaniard was missing for his side 3-0 win against Sunderland on Sunday, and United will need all their key players if they’re to keep the likes of Eden Hazard, Diego Costa and Willian at bay.

Chelsea losing at Old Trafford could see them potentially dropping four points of second-placed Tottenham Hotspur, while a win over Jose Mourinho’s side may be enough to see the Blues within a point of Manchester City in further, having played a game fewer.

Southampton vs. Manchester City

Manchester City vs Southampton

Fast-forwarding back to last season, Claude Puel’s side win record has been almost consistently torn apart between their home and away record this season, but the Saints will need to reconnect with their winning mentality for their visit to Etihad Stadium this Saturday.

City’s manager Pep Guardiola has lost just once in his last 10 away Premier League matches and has wake his up after a poor displays, speaking hopefully of their top-four chances recently, per the club’s official Twitter account:

Southampton is also upbeat about Claude Peul decision for the remainder of the season, however, and recently said the Saints – currently sitting on the ninth position – can secure a top-half finish, according to Sky Sports’ Richard Morgan:

Every game it is difficult to know the scenario of each game, but the [EFL Cup] final and the other games were always with quality with good play and spirit.

Sometimes we had good results, sometimes it was not enough. But I think we stayed with a good performance and it is now important to stay in the top half of the table and this is the objective for the moment.

Southampton are unbeaten in their last two home outings after beating Crystal Palace 3-1 and drawing 0-0 with south-coast derby opponents Bournemouth at St. Mary’s Stadium earlier this month.

Claude Peul’s side are unbeaten in their last two home games after thrashing Crystal Palace 3-1 and drawing 0-0 with south-coast derby opponents Bournemouth at St. Mary’s Stadium earlier this month.

That being said, the Saints have arguable been the most intimidating attack in the Premier League bringing down challenges on them this Saturday, although the fact Manchester City lost in their last away games – against Chelsea – would be a boost for the Saints.

Facebook Comments
Kazeem Olawale, 24-year old sports writer. Avid Arsenal and Celtic fan Lover of the Serie A and La Liga. Enjoys American sports. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter